Standing Committee on Screening

The role of the Standing Committee on Screening is to advise the Clinical Principal Committee (CPC) of the Australian Health Ministers Advisory Council (AHMAC) on national population based screening activities.

Page last updated: 05 February 2020

Terms of reference

  1. To provide advice on emerging population screening issues and other screening issues at the direction of the CPC.
  2. To oversee generic issues related to national screening programs, including specifically, but not limited to, monitoring and evaluation, policy development, implementation and communication and recruitment strategies.
  3. To provide leadership and national direction on policy, implementation and monitoring of existing joint screening programs, BreastScreen Australia and the National Cervical Screening Program.
  4. To provide advice in relation to the National Bowel Cancer Screening Program.
  5. To provide guidance in relation to the Neonatal Hearing Screening Program and Newborn Bloodspot Screening Program.
  6. To make recommendations to CPC and AHMAC on screening programs in response to new evidence and expert technical advice.
  7. To provide a focus on equity and access, in particular to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander issues, for national screening programs.
  8. To liaise and consult with the relevant experts on screening and refer appropriate issues for advice.


Standing Committee on Screening members represent state and territory government health departments.
Professor Brendan MurphyChair
Ms Phillipa LowreyActing Assistant Secretary
Cancer Policy and Services Branch
Department of Health
Dr Jan FizzellMedical Advisor
Office of the Chief Health Officer NSW
New South Wales Department of Health
Dr Sara WatsonActing Chief Medical Officer
Northern Territory Department of Health
Professor Katina D’OniseDirector
Prevention and Population Health Branch
South Australian Department for Health and Wellbeing
Ms Rachael Andersen A/Assistant Director
Screening and Prevention Services
Victorian Department of Health and Human Services
Dr Kerryn ColemanPublic Health Physician
Australian Capital Territory Department of Health
Dr Jeannette YoungChief Medical Officer
Queensland Department of Health
Dr Scott McKeownDeputy Director of Public Health
Tasmanian Department of Health and Human Services
Dr Kristen NowakActing Director
Office of Population Health Genomics
Western Australia Department of Health
Dr Jane O’Hallahan/Ms Astrid KoornneefGroup Manager
New Zealand National Screening Unit
Dr Vivienne MilchDirector, Cancer Care
Cancer Australia
DirectorScreening Policy Section
Cancer Policy and Services Branch
Department of Health